After a sensational 2015 season the UNSW Raiders held their end of sea12295451_937581199655196_6622646039609385946_nson awards event today.

We would like to thank all of the Players, Coaches, Executive and Support Staff for helping to make 2015 the most successful season in 5 years with the Men making the Quarter Finals and the Women off to the Gridiron NSW Opal Bowl!

At today’s presentation day we  recognised the 10 years of service for Jioje Aropio – we thank him for this loyalty and constant support of the club.

Today we also recognised a member of the club for their on going support and contribution.  It i12341293_937581469655169_2354035952714729551_nsn’t often a jersey number is retired, in fact, before today there were only  2 Raiders Gridiron Club jerseys in this state – #55 (Steve Jones) and # 57 (Peter Tos Snr).

Now we take that count to 3, as UNSW Raiders Jersey #76 was officially made unavailable.

Jersey #76 12299345_937581276321855_4506410317092018572_nwas retired in recognition of PAUL MANERA for his contribution to the Raiders Gridiron Club both as a player and as a coach.

Without doubt it was a well deserved award and we thank Peter Tos Snr and Andrew Brundu for taking the time to join us today to present the framed jersey as a gift to Paul.

Other special awards and notable mentions today went to:

  • HELEN TAYLOR for providing oranges at most of the mens games for half time and

HELMET AWARDS & WARRIOR CLUB – These awards are presented to UNSW Raiders players that left a mark on and off the field in recognition of their preparation, performance and club contributions!

Warrior Club is awarded to players who excel in all three categories of preparation, performance and club person. This year’s recipients are:

  • Sam Reilly
  • Matt Maiava
  • Viliami Folau
  • Ben Raglione

Finally, we would like to congratulate the following players on their Helmet Awards:

2015 helmet awards



Share this Post